Small Town, High Glam: Why I Started This Blog

I’ve always loved makeup, as well as art. Those two worlds inevitably collided and here I am today, a makeup artist. I love the idea of a job where I have complete control over my career and absolutely no creative restrictions. I guess I’m a bit of a free spirit.

In September 2012 I took the leap and registered into a master makeup artistry course and began freelancing. I cannot explain to you the feeling of triumph and pride when you get your first paying job doing something you’re passionate about. It’s amazing.

I decided to cater my business to other small-town women (I live in a town of 3000 people) by offering the fairest prices I can as well as many personal lesson packages so that every woman can feel beautiful every day. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it is my job to help women see it in themselves.

As my knowledge of cosmetics expanded, I became aware of just how many chemicals and toxins we put on our skin daily. After trying a few beauty DIYs found on Pinterest, I became hooked. I soon began making and selling natural bath and body products because I believe that we shouldn’t have to sacrifice our health to feel pretty, plus it gives me a chance to make a mess of my kitchen and concoct new things. Win!

I plan to one day open up my own studio+boutique. I don’t talk about it a lot because I’m afraid a) someone else will do so before me or b) I won’t actually do it/succeed. Lately I’ve been trying to open up to [some] people about my dreams and use it as motivation to make them a reality, this blog being part of that. As of right now I’ve got a business plan and a dream so as far as I’m concerned, I’m already a step in the right direction. πŸ™‚

Why did I start this blog? Not because Im after free products, or to see how many followers I can get. I did it because I want to share my passion for makeup and beauty. I have been lucky enough to find my passion in life and I want to share my knowledge and experiences with you through articles, how-to’s and photos.

This is my little corner of the Internet where makeup addicts and beauty junkies are always welcome, so make yourself a cup of tea, get comfy and stay a while.

Peace Love and Lipgloss
-M.

A Penny for Your Thoughts...

