Review: Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment

NeriumSkincare is a major part of makeup artistry. As a makeup artist and someone who suffers from blemish prone skin, Im always on the lookout for skincare products that deliver results. Nerium AD is a name some of you may be familiar with, while others like myself may not have discovered it yet. In the United States Nerium AD is a well known skincare line that is now expanding into Mexico and Canada as of April 2014. As part of Canada’s “soft product launch” I have been asked by a representative to take part in a 7 day trial and to review my results and experience. With that being said, all opinions in this review are my own and I was not compensated in any way by Nerium AD or by any representatives.

The Product
Nerium AD Age Defying treatment derives its name from which the main active ingredient comes from: the Nerium Oleander. Normally a toxic plant, researchers have discovered an extract and protein blend (NAE-8) that targets the skin cells responsible for aging the skin. The Night Treatment holds the highest concentration of NAE-8 making it the perfect choice for someone who wants to wake up to results. With the addition of the Day Cream’s lightweight formula you can enjoy Nerium’s benefits 24 hours a day. Both products are also gluten free, paraben free, cruelty free, noncomedogenic, and ideal for all skin types and ages making it a safe choice for everyone!

The Claim
Nerium AD claims to dramatically reduce the appearance of:

  • Fine Lines and Wrinkles
  • Discoloration
  • Uneven Skin Texture
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Aging and Loose Skin

First Impressions
I received my 7 day trial from my local representative, Beth. In my package was 1 full sized Night Treatment, 1 full sized Day Cream, and a couple pamphlets with information about Nerium and the science behind it. I read all of the information provided, took a look at the products and decided I wasn’t going to do any online research or read any reviews about Nerium until I had tried it out for myself.

Im in my twenties so I don’t have any noticeable lines, wrinkles or sagging skin yet so the “problem areas” I was hoping to target were the enlarged pores on my nose and my uneven skin tone.

Night Treatment: The night treatment is thick and yellow but applies clear to slightly damp skin. It smells very organic and plant-like but not unpleasant (think damp leaves after a rainfall) which goes away after 5-10 minutes once its absorbed into the skin. The directions on the bottle suggest using 4 pumps of the serum but I found using 1.5 was plenty. After it absorbed into my skin there was no residue and it left my skin soft and velvety smooth, slightly tight but not at all uncomfortable.

Day Cream: White, lightweight formula packed with anti-oxidants, peptides and proteins. Almost unnoticeable “lotion” scent. Applies easily to a clean, dry face and absorbs within 5-10 minutes. After a few days of use I found this cream to be a bit too rich for my already oily skin, but it would be perfect for normal/dry skin.

NeriumAD

My Experience
First Morning: I started my trial on a Wednesday evening with the night treatment, applying it to my entire face. When I woke up in the morning I had already noticed a few slight changes– the redness around my nose had settled and the skin on my nose felt a bit tighter. I rinsed my face with my face wipe and applied 1 pump of the day cream to my face and carried on with my day.

3rd Morning: After 2 full days of use, I had definitely noticed some changes in my skin. My skin was tighter and looked more even-toned and radiant, especially for mid-winter. The pores on my nose were continuing to shrink *yay!* and I was using less makeup in my routine, almost completely skipping colour correction and concealer. After my makeup was applied it was smoother than before, particularly on my nose which no longer resembled an orange peel. (Not a good look on anybody!) So far, so good.

Final Morning: On the final morning I gave my face one last examination under a magnifying mirror–not something I’d recommend to those faint of heart! To my surprise, the shallow “frown line” that once adorned my forehead was no longer there, but nice, tight skin in its place. Overall, my skin looked and felt great. Everything was evenly toned–the dark circles were no longer under my eyes and the redness around my nose had disappeared. By now I was using WAY less makeup, now completely skipping concealer, colour correction and opting for a sheer-medium coverage foundation saving me time, product, and the amount of chemicals I put on my face each day. And the horrendous pores on my nose? They had all but vanished! With or without makeup you could not see a single pore and I could not have been happier as this was my main “goal” to target with Nerium AD.

Bottom Line
As far as Im concerned, Nerium AD worked for me. The problem areas I was hoping to target showed noticeable (well, to me) results and overall I had a pleasant experience. Does this mean it will work for everybody? Not necessarily, although it is worth mentioning that I have seen some pretty convincing before and after shots of men and women with Psoriasis, Eczema and other skin issues who seem to be clearing up nicely thanks to this stuff. Of course, as with any other skincare product, consult your Dermatologist and research the ingredients to determine whether its the right product for you before you slather it all over your face.

Try It Yourself
So, how do you get your hands on this stuff? Nerium is currently only available through independent representatives, similar to Avon or Mary Kay. Many representatives will offer a Try Before You Buy sample like the 7day trial I received, as well as loyal customer programs and benefits. To find a Representative in your area you can search Google, or even become a Brand Partner yourself.

Have you heard of or tried Nerium AD? What was your experience like? Did you receive the results you were hoping for? Share your story!

Peace Love and Lipgloss xx

One thought on “Review: Nerium AD Age Defying Treatment

A Penny for Your Thoughts...

